Hand Pie

Adventure One:

A personal goal of mine is to experience more foods. I am a culinary student, so it’s good to learn about things that you’re paying to learn about. I’m paying to learn about baking and pastry, so I love to eat good pastries and baked goods.

So, the big question: Pie or cake? I’ve honestly never been a big pie fan. I appreciate pie. I don’t have a love for pie. I do love cake, but that is for a different post.

My quest for good desserts brought me to a food cart named Whiffies. Whiffies is a cart on Southeast 12th and Hawthorn. They are open from 11am-3am Tuesdays through Sundays, owned and operated by Greg Abbott. While prepping my pie for me, Greg was explaining that he loves owning his own place opposed to working for others. “I make the rules, sometimes I make the wrong rules,” he told me.  This made me giggle. Rarely will a business owner confess that they are not always correct.

Whiffies creates hand pies, both savory and sweet, but I like to eat dessert first so I went with Gregs favorite, the apple pie. It took about 5 minutes for the pie to be fried off … Yes; these are deep fried hand pies… why would you want a pie any other way then deep fried. Amazingly portable, the warm pie was easily transported into my mouth, then down to my stomach.

Have you ever had a deep fried hand pie before? It is something truly beautiful. The crust was the most tender and flakiest crust I have ever eaten, with a slight saltiness that complemented the sweet cinnamon spiced filling. The tart apples contrasted with the buttery crust and made a party in my mouth (the good kind of party). This pie made me smile, and not many pies have had that effect on me. I don’t normally take a pie home with me, but this one was special.  Just writing about this pie is making my mouth salivate.

I hope that you will enjoy Whiffies hand pies sometime soon. Not only is the product tasty, but Greg Abbott was one of the nicest guys and gave fantastic service. And, come on, deep fried pies? It was safe.
Whiffies Fried Pies (Food Cart) on Urbanspoon

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Thai Mocha Tom
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 21:52:38

    That hand pie looks delicious! I may go try it later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

